Soup Glorious Soup

Soup Glorious Soup

I can never remember being a big soup fan. The thought of drinking something for my dinner or tea never really apealled to me and I could never imagine that it would fill me for long.The Mister sometimes doesn’t mind soup and he will help himself to some every now and again, but last week we found cans of the stuff in the cupboard that haven’t been touched. I Couldn’t quite believe that some of the tins in there had been out of date since 2011. Maybe I should clear out the cupboards more often :0

Another reason why I have never been a big soup fan is that I have always associated Soup with illness. And throughout my childhood my Grandma always swore by soup for common colds and the like. I know a few people who have been brought up with the same theory and that chicken soup is especially good. Psychologically, maybe I didnt want soup because I didnt want to be ill as this would mean i couldnt play outside with my friends.

It has only been recently that I have taken an interest in soup. I have started to eat this (see i said eat, not drink 🙂 ) at work. It all stemmed from when I decided to give myself a massive kick up the behind on my God-Mummy countdown, that I thought soup is supposed to be good for the soul and may aide me in my weightloss mission. And I have to say I am amazed by how filling it actually is.

I have started to enjoy soup, so much so, that I have even started to make my own from scratch so that I can freeze these little portions of loveliness to take to work for my lunch. With the method that this will then keep the beast at bay and keep me away from the shop of all things evil downstairs!!!!

I did my first batch last week and I was extremely proud of myself for making this little creation. I even took our hand blender out for the first time and put this baby to use. Needless to say it will now be out more often 🙂 My soup was a bit of a concoction that I rustled up and it went down quite well in the mamma-bear household.

I used:
– Frozen baby carrots (however any type should be fine)
– 100mls vegetable stock
– 1 large onion, diced
– 1 tsp cumin
– 1 tsp corriander
– ground black pepper

Method:
– Fry Onions in a pan with Low-Cal cooking oil for 2-3 mins. Add vegetable stock, cumin and corriander and add carrots. Bring to the boil and then cook on a moderate heat for 20 mins. You may want to add more cumin or corriander depending on your taste. Whip out the hand blender and blend until you get a consistensy that you like. I prefer mine to be relatively smooth with some chunks in there.
Maybe throw in some added herbs or spices and see what you can make of it. This is a perfect meal for the ever changing weather conditions that we have had recently. A perfect warm up in an instant 🙂

Next week I am going to try my hand at Curried Parsnip soup. I will let you know of the outcome sometime soon.

20130404-171158.jpg

I would love to hear your comments and I do read them all.

